A Day In The Life

Kim Renwick

Kim Renwick

Posted 01 June 2016

New York Program

March 2010 Intake

Kim Renwick (New York, March 2010), a graduate of Manchester University, she worked for UBS during her Mountbatten year, and after further study at City University of New York – Herbert H. Lehman College where she gained an MA in Health Education & Promotion, she has gone on to pursue a career as a Certified Health Education Specialist and Lactation Counselor. Kim currently holds a position at Montefiore Hospital in the Bronx, New York, where she helps educate adults and children on making healthy lifestyle changes to help manage/prevent chronic diseases. Kim lives in Manhattan.

What do you do?
I'm a Health Educator at Montefiore hospital, based in one of their outpatient clinics. I counsel and educate adults and children on making healthy lifestyle changes to help them manage and/or prevent chronic diseases such as obesity, diabetes, hypertension...the list goes on. The field of Health Education is so multifaceted that I am continuously learning something new everyday - I'm responsible for assessing patient needs, facilitating group workshops, sourcing/developing evidence based curricula and evaluating programs. I am also a Certified Lactation Counselor (CLC) so I educate new mothers about breastfeeding and help them to overcome any challenges they may have.

How did you get into this line of business?
I've always had an interest in health, wellness, nutrition and fitness, but this passion grew significantly after my 2 year stint in Sydney, Australia. I moved to Australia to work for UBS a couple months after being with UBS as a Mountbatten intern in 2011. The timing was perfect - a job opportunity came up in the Learning and Development department in the UBS Sydney office around the same time. I'm so lucky to have had that experience!! But after 2 years I realized that I wanted to change my career path and to study further, so I came back to New York to do my Masters degree in Health Education and Promotion. I completed it in 18 months and now I'm really doing something I love everyday!

Let's talk about a typical day. What time do you get up?
I wake up between 6:30 and 7am most days. I have an hour commute to work everyday so my sleep is vital! I wish I could wake up earlier to squeeze in a run in the morning, but that's usually left until after my work day unfortunately.

Where do you have your lunch?
I generally pack my own lunch from home most days, but make it a habit to get outside for a 30 minute walk or so during my lunch hour.

What time do you normally leave your workplace at the end of the working day?
It varies, but I try to leave by 5pm so I get home by 6 and make it to the gym or go for a run after work (or squeeze in a cocktail at a rooftop during the summer months)!

How often do you travel for work?
I don't travel out of State for now, but I will have more opportunities to attend Health Conferences and workshops around the country within the next year, I hope.

For friends who have never been to New York/Bronx, what would you suggest they see and do?
I work in the Bronx, but live in Manhattan, so I can suggest a ton of activities in Manhattan! But I know there's a lot to discover in the Bronx and I haven't explored it nearly enough. For friends who have never been I would suggest that they check out the Botanical Gardens and have lunch at the Hudson Garden Grill - it's such a beautiful setting surrounded by one of New York's most iconic gardens. The food is amazing too!