A Day In The Life

De'Kaleigha Wells

De'Kaleigha Wells

Posted 01 December 2017

London Program

August 2015 Intake

De'Kaleigha (Day-Day) did her BSc at Middle Tennessee State University before joining the Mountbatten MBA course in London in August 2015. After making the most of her time on the Programme, Day-Day took a position as a Personal Assistant to a family (Confidential) in the Greater Los Angeles Area. In her role, Day-Day is responsible for 2 children aged 9 and 13, as well as a whole retinue of staff. Since starting the job in February, Day-Day has flown in the family's private jet, and will shortly be heading to Aspen, Colorado for the holidays. Read on to discover why "(it's) the best job" Day-Day has ever had.

My Alarm Goes off...every 3 mins from 6:30am-6:45am because I am a TERRIBLE morning person and I have to be in my car no later than 7:10am to beat the well renowned horrendous Los Angeles traffic!

I'm Responsible For... 2 children aged 9 and 13; 4 housekeepers; 6 Landscapers; Several Utility Workers; 1 Private Chef; 1 Technician; and Myself; I have to make sure everyone is where they are supposed to be and doing what they are supposed to do to our Boss' satisfaction every single day. I am responsible for everyone on staff and their safety and making sure they have what they need at all times.

I Got The Job... as a Personal Assistant, Nanny, and House Manager for a very high profile family in Calabasas/Hidden Hills area of Los Angeles, California about 3 weeks after completing my MBA in International Business through the Mountbatten Program Institute.

My Typical Day... begins at Starbucks for everyone every morning. Then I get the kids out of bed and ready for school, including packing lunches, taking one child to the bus stop and the other to school, and taking the dog to doggie camp. I return back to the house and manage all the other staff of the house, receive packages, book appointments, update calendar, run errands, schedule deliveries etc. I pick the children up from school and take to therapy, tutor, and other appointments depending on day of the week. I will then pick up the dog at the end of the day, warm up dinner chef has prepared, ensure kids have showered, check all doors and windows, and confirm all the other staff are done working for the day because I cannot leave until they are done and they check out with me before they leave and we discuss any issues, problems, concerns, plans, and achievements.

The Culture Of My Workplace... is very relaxed and fun, yet full of surprises and constant spur of the moments! My family I work for is very loving, kind, and giving... so the culture is very welcoming.

My Most Memorable Work Moment... I have two…. when I flew on our private jet for the first time and when the 13-year-old girl told me she loved me!! I went to my car and literally cried crocodile tears because even as resistant as she is thinking she is too old for a "Nanny", it was at that very moment that I knew I was doing something right! She had finally embraced me and my loving personality had finally proven itself to her. We are headed to Aspen, Colorado for the Holidays, so I am sure I will have a new memorable work moment snowboarding and skiing down the mountains!

My Role Models are... My Auntie, My Great-Grandmother, My God-mother, and Michelle Obama.

The Most Challenging Part of My Job... seeing the hurt in the kids as well as the lack of manners and respect they have for adults, due to unforeseen circumstances that have occurred in their short time here on Earth. It is also a challenge to manage everyone and keep everyone happy being the youngest on staff in the most prominent role.

The Best Part of My Job... Flexibility and Stability. My income is very high which grants me better lifestyle opportunities and chances to bless my family and people; however, the BEST part is I get paid to love on someone else's kids and run their house for them both when they are at home and out of town. It is not easy, yet not rocket science… and by far the BEST job I have ever had—beats sitting at any desk for 9 hours a day dealing with sometimes 3 computer monitors at a time.

After Work... I usually talk to my family for about an hour with the time difference from the South to the West Coast, and then I go straight to my second home (lol) and go to sleep or work on my dreams that I am determined to make my realities.

Plan B: If I wasn't doing this, I would... be on set or stage acting!! Designing dresses for taller women, recording in the studio, and traveling the world!